Google Reviews

Mary Hazard
Mary Hazard
03:33 05 Dec 19
Jimmy (the owner and main coach) is an absolutely amazing coach! He makes sure to make time to give individualized instruction to each student even in a group class setting. He encourages you to listen to your body and speak up if any exercise is painful and somehow is always able to come up with an adapted or alternative exercise for the same muscle group on the spot. The morning smith fit classes are a small group intimate setting that really helps to hold you accountable. The kickboxing classes will kick anyones butt but are fast paced and keep you engaged the whole time even as a complete beginner to kickboxing / martial arts. I can't say enough good things about SFMA!read more
Jen Oceguera
Jen Oceguera
21:44 28 Nov 19
When we first came to Smith Fitness and Martial Arts in April 2018, our son was at a crossroads. He was struggling with finding his place amongst his peers. Confidence and overall fitness were issues. After two years at Smith, he has lost about 45 pounds. His lean physique and increased strength and stamina have been a huge boost to his confidence and self esteem. I truly believe this gym gave him the foundation to be successful. He has adjusted with grace and ease to high school life and seems to be enjoying the process. Even the challenges he faces he does with a sense of humor and calm approach. This is so different than the kid of a couple years back who went between being stressed out to not caring. A couple of weeks ago, a student was cussing at a teacher and our son stood up for her. After class, the student challenged him to a fight and when he diffused the situation and walked away, the other student threw two punches. Our son blocked the punches even though this kid outweighs him by about 100 pounds at which time the school intervened and the student was suspended. SF&MA has taught him a) to try to diffuse the situation b) block and defend and c) stay calm in a combat situation. The school vice principal called me to thank me personally for having a son who defended a teacher and who responded to a bad situation in the best possible way. My heart is filled with gratitude. Our family feels so very blessed to have Jimmy and Smith Martial Arts in our lives - Coach Jimmy's mentorship, guidance and example is invaluable.read more
Chris Cochran
Chris Cochran
18:08 15 Oct 19
I have been going to Smith Martial Arts classes for nearly four months now and I can say that I actually look forward to going each time. I really like the variety of the workouts. Jimmy makes them different every time. The kickboxing class works for every level of fitness, male or female, old or young. I have also taken his self defense class and found it incredibly useful. Jimmy is a great guy, and I can highly recommend his gym to anybody looking to get in shape and learn some skills. UPDATE: It has now been two years since I started working out at Smith Martial Arts. I enjoy the class and the workouts so much that I now go four days a week, and I look forward to going to class. The people in the class are really great to work out with. Super nice, and I have made friends with many of them, and have conducted business with several. I think it is just the best place to workout in Bend!read more
Renee Moon
Renee Moon
23:21 10 Oct 19
Coach Jimmy is awesome! He takes the time to help you learn the right moves and is super with the kids. We did the starter package for our daughter and we've been here for almost 5 months now. She loves her class and has so much confidence. My husband and I now do the kickboxing class. Such a great class.read more
Christina Linton
Christina Linton
20:56 17 Sep 19
Took a class last weekend on self-defense with Smith Fitness. Absolutely AMAZING. Gained the confidence and knowledge on how to handle the unexpected. So thankful for Jimmy and his passion to help others!read more
Tamara Stringham
Tamara Stringham
16:23 27 Jun 19
I had been disabled for years due to some auto immune disorders I am struggling with. Jimmy gave me personalized attention so that I could not only walk better but travel Europe with my family last summer! Since then, we have actually asked him to come do a group training regarding safety at work when strangers come in to our front office and seem to be struggling with aggression. It has made all of the office personnel feel safer to have a plan. So my personal life and my business life is better because of Jimmy Smith! He is not only authentic, compassionate and trustworthy, but knowledgeable when it comes to strengthening someone who has health challenges. I can’t say enough about how he has changed my life along with my interaction with my family and coworkers!read more
Rhino Skin Solutions
Rhino Skin Solutions
04:42 23 Jun 19
I have been attending kickboxing and mma for a bit over 1 month now. The supportive community of athletes there really helps everybody rise to be their best. From myself as a beginner and everywhere up to seasons vets. Each and every person in the class embraces that there is something like learn and yeah each other. What fine community of people Jimmy has nurtured.read more
Madelin Kunkel
Madelin Kunkel
14:37 29 May 19
Started working out w/ Jimmy & his Trainer Ray in September of 2018 since then you can not believe how stronger, healthier & motivated mentally I am as a person... Live most I've been to many gyms but Smith Fitness & Martial Arts is like NO Gym you have ever been too. The 1 on 1 training is exceptional. Hands Down Best Gym EVER! Thanks Jimmy, Ray & Staffread more
Karen Myers
Karen Myers
01:07 05 May 19
I have been a member at Smith Fitness and Martial Arts since Fall 2018. The individualized commitment that Coach Jimmy has for my success is remarkable. I have been attending his 12 noon Smith Fit classes on Tuesday's and Thursday's and it fits wonderfully into my hour lunch schedule with work. Get in and get out. The circuit is prepared , and you yourself don't have to think about what you're going to do, there's a coach there to instruct and show the moves that you will perform. I have been an avid gym attendee half my life, and Jimmy has set new standards for my success. I'm stronger and have more endurance than ever before. I've also just recently started taking my boys to his Kids MMA classes in the evenings, they love it, there's structure and accountability and such a great outlet for my boys. Thank you Jimmy for all you do. Karenread more
Dani Stewart
Dani Stewart
20:00 27 Mar 19
I’ve been to Smith Martial Arts for a few years now doing kickboxing, etc-even doing a private self defense class with Jimmy for my kids. He’s absolutely unbelievable with his encouragement, words of wisdom and his positive attitude. One of my sons began MMA, Jimmy and his staff are the best! So great with kids/teens! Patient, kind and so knowledgeable. I highly recommend Smith Martial Arts for anyone of any age who wants a great workout and wants to make themselves (or someone they love) a better person!read more
Next Reviews

Facebook Reviews

Smith Martial Arts & Fitness
4.9
powered by Facebook
Randall Knight
Randall Knight
2019-09-17T16:11:36+0000
I’ve been putting off singing up with Smith Martial Arts for months and months. Finally walked in for the first class. It was fun, it was interesting the staff is very nice and encouraging. I feel better already after one session! I don’t feel like I’m working out. It’s awesome you got to come in a try it. Randall Kread more
James McCaleb Jr.
James McCaleb Jr.
2019-09-07T15:57:32+0000
Truly amazing martial arts & fitness page and great posts. Share with everyone.
Sarah Alice
Sarah Alice
2019-07-28T05:59:35+0000
My girls and I took a private self defense class while we were in town visiting Bend and it was amazing! We had a fun time learning techniques to get out of serious situations. I’m so glad we got the chance to do this and would recommend Coach Smith to anyone!!read more
Katie Garrett
Katie Garrett
2019-05-17T01:40:41+0000
John Benzen
John Benzen
2019-04-11T03:54:34+0000
Coach Smith and Coach Ray are amazing, so good with the kids!!! My son and I train w/ coach Smith; Max has grown leaps with his confidence, kid skills, helping the other kids on the mat, taking down bigger kids!!! We have bonded a lot, together in this adventure, really proud of Max... 5 STARS!!!!!read more
Jamie Carley
Jamie Carley
2018-11-05T05:07:08+0000
I cannot say enough good things about Smith Martial Arts & Fitness! I have knee problems and coach Jimmy has modified my workouts for the maximum benefits. I’ve been able to strengthen my body, lose weight and gain muscle. My husband and I have met great people that give us the support needed to succeed in our fitness goals. Thank you coach Jimmy and the entire team at Smith Martial Arts & Fitness. Jamie Carleyread more
Irving Corzo
Irving Corzo
2018-11-05T01:41:51+0000
I highly recommend training with Coach Smith! Whether you're looking to get in shape or try out mixed martial arts, Coach Smith will be there to guide you 100% of the way. He cares about each individual and takes time to help you perfect your form. His classes are fun and challenging!read more
Matt Carley
Matt Carley
2018-11-03T02:05:33+0000
My wife and I both go to the Smith fit class in the morning and kickboxing in the afternoon. I recently tried the MMA class in the evening and realized how many skills you can gain out of that class as well. I want to let everybody know how much enjoyment we get out of frequenting the classes at Smith Martial Arts & Fitness. Along with learning self-defense, confidence and new skills. You will also get a great work out during each and every class. In three months I have seen changes in our cardio, strength and stamina. Over those three months I have shed pounds and gained muscles mass that I am so stoked about. I would recommend Smith Martial Arts & Fitness to anybody and everybody. Even with ailments or limitations Jimmy will find a workout that works for you. Thank you coach Jimmy for all your support! Matt Carleyread more
Jen Kjellesvik
Jen Kjellesvik
2018-06-28T14:35:24+0000
Incredible family!!! Decades of skills!!! A true gift!!!
Corrina Osgood-Rottum
Corrina Osgood-Rottum
2018-05-08T01:43:40+0000
Wow! This was so fun today, really enjoyed my first class. I'm looking forward to getting in great shape and not being so afraid of the sparring!read more
John Hammarley
John Hammarley
2018-04-06T23:22:51+0000
Talk about a hidden gem in Bend! Jimmy Smith has the best, most personalized approach to high intensity fitness training. A former collegiate boxer, I've especially enjoyed Jimmy's one-on-one sparring and tutoring sessions. But overall, his fitness classes ROCK! Pounds lost, range of motion increased. Muscles tightened. Last time I checked, that's a home run!read more
Madison Lundy
Madison Lundy
2018-01-23T21:12:13+0000
Jimmy takes time to educate you and focuses on overall wellness. Motivated & excited by what I have learned so far!
Kizer Couch
Kizer Couch
2018-01-19T18:40:57+0000
I brought my son in for martial arts and cardio classes 6 years ago. My son enjoys the classes and got me involved in them as well. Now I have been working out with Jimmy for the last 3 years and loving it. The classes are as hard as you want to make them and really get an all around workout. Since working out in his classes I have lost 40 lbs, my balance and coordination have improved and my cardio has increase tremendously.read more
Jon Slaton
Jon Slaton
2018-01-12T01:33:03+0000
Jim Brown
Jim Brown
2018-01-11T21:03:12+0000
I've been involved with martial arts for a number of years now. I really enjoy kickboxing.jimmy does an excellent job teaching the basics and making it all seem natural.read more
Consuelo Brigham
Consuelo Brigham
2017-06-24T12:59:33+0000
💥 Having found these amazing people Jim Sally and Georgia has been a blessing. I want everyone I know to make the decision to change your mind body and soul it's starts with you Call or come in and at least have a conversationread more
Vicki Jensen
Vicki Jensen
2017-02-22T04:14:36+0000
Awesome place to make that commitment that your life needs! They are great to work with, and very motivational!! You will see the results you are looking for!read more
Heather Best Gonzalez
Heather Best Gonzalez
2016-12-17T16:02:06+0000
Jim is an amazing person that is ready to inspire anyone that is ready to learn. Along with the rest of him family. His wife Sally is very sweet and caring women. His children nothing but respect and gratitude!!� So glad my family and I have been introduced to them. #lovingfamily #inspirational #asskicking�read more
Chico Gonzalez
Chico Gonzalez
2016-12-17T03:54:43+0000
Coach Jim is amazing with kids. I would fully recommend him to any family! Not just a great trainer a great person.
Georgia Johnson McNulty
Georgia Johnson McNulty
2016-12-17T03:48:42+0000
Jim is an amazing trainer with a heart of gold. He inspires his clients for a better lifestyle everyday.
Sean Soliz
Sean Soliz
2016-03-04T05:58:25+0000
Awesome place to learn martial arts. Whether you're a beginner or you've been at it for years, Coach Jimmy Smith finds way to improve your game steadily while making it fun. That's what its about. I recommend to all families and friends.read more
Haylee Scott
Haylee Scott
2015-12-08T16:11:40+0000
Scott Pence
Scott Pence
2015-12-05T23:43:02+0000
We took our kids to Smith Martial Arts this last summer for training and development. Jimmy is EXCEPTIONAL with kids and the experience was incredibly positive for both our daughter and son. We will immediately get them started again next summer. We only wish we could have them working with Jimmy year round!!!! Sincerely, Scott Penceread more
Scott Fraser
Scott Fraser
2015-12-03T23:40:23+0000
Jimmy is second to non. He teaches not only a mixed martial art, he also teaches a discipline.
Crystal Palmer
Crystal Palmer
2015-09-27T23:17:43+0000
A place to learn great skills and have a awesome workout. Love it.
Victoria Curr Johnson
Victoria Curr Johnson
2015-09-09T23:57:20+0000
We were introduced to Jimmy Smith by friend who has been taking women's kickboxing classes at his gym for months and loved it! Our whole family does Smith Fit classes together. We are so impressed by Jimmy's commitment to kids and family fitness especially, he is a knowledgable, patient instructor. The kids are now taking the afternoon MMA classes, we can see their confidence and self esteem grow every week!read more
Mike Gonzalez
Mike Gonzalez
2015-08-27T19:16:08+0000
Best MMA gym in the C.O. coach is very nice and very knowledgeable in MMA.
Elnor Rollins
Elnor Rollins
2015-08-14T02:53:04+0000
Isaac C Walker
Isaac C Walker
2015-08-04T11:15:13+0000
Ryan James
Ryan James
2015-06-10T10:41:02+0000
David Hart
David Hart
2015-05-14T07:35:29+0000
Having trained in the martial arts for nearly 20 years, I can attest to Jim Smith as being truly the real deal. He's a truly enlightened human being. His knowledge of the martial arts spans beyond self-defense, he is the personification of mind/body/spirit integration into a way of life. Men, women and children will all benefit from training with Jim, I highly recommend stopping in, meeting him and experiencing his fantastic facility.read more
Amy Harrell Campbell
Amy Harrell Campbell
2015-04-23T06:19:38+0000
Jimmy is amazing! He provides lots of encouragement and tools for everyday healthy living. If you have not checked out Smith Martial Arts DON'T WAIT ANOTHER MINUTE!read more
Rhianna Katherine
Rhianna Katherine
2015-04-16T16:22:48+0000
So much fun, coach Smith is awesome! I look forward to class every day!
Rachelle D Mose
Rachelle D Mose
2015-04-12T03:11:33+0000
Nicholas C Greenlee
Nicholas C Greenlee
2015-02-01T22:36:05+0000
Jeffery Durante
Jeffery Durante
2014-10-17T14:14:21+0000
Eduardo Castellon
Eduardo Castellon
2014-10-02T00:14:08+0000
Edward Kehoe
Edward Kehoe
2014-09-30T04:43:41+0000
Debbie Warn-Soliz
Debbie Warn-Soliz
2014-09-08T17:30:54+0000
Tiffany Adrien
Tiffany Adrien
2014-08-17T23:50:29+0000
Kayla Gomez
Kayla Gomez
2014-08-02T21:16:31+0000
Wade Anderson
Wade Anderson
2014-07-26T02:21:49+0000
Jacob Wray
Jacob Wray
2014-07-04T07:53:45+0000
Holly Houston
Holly Houston
2014-06-25T05:03:33+0000
Jim Smith
Jim Smith
2014-05-19T04:22:06+0000
Kaylynn Anderson
Kaylynn Anderson
2014-04-27T02:51:14+0000
Lori Reiter
Lori Reiter
2014-04-24T04:00:48+0000
Chance Peasley
Chance Peasley
2014-04-16T04:39:19+0000
Jeff Johnson
Jeff Johnson
2014-04-15T00:45:14+0000
Kelley Mctimmonds
Kelley Mctimmonds
2014-04-07T07:58:20+0000
James Smith
James Smith
2014-03-11T15:57:41+0000
Megan Estes
Megan Estes
2014-02-27T17:08:03+0000
Kristie Todd Hornbeck
Kristie Todd Hornbeck
2014-01-23T06:08:20+0000
Ryan Calderon
Ryan Calderon
2014-01-05T09:07:57+0000
Pepe Nuño Freebiker
Pepe Nuño Freebiker
2013-12-11T14:24:05+0000
Laura Spaulding
Laura Spaulding
2013-12-09T18:24:46+0000
Kevin Giovanni Gomez
Kevin Giovanni Gomez
2013-11-23T10:52:22+0000
Stan Whitton
Stan Whitton
2013-11-12T19:22:15+0000
Conall Langhorst
Conall Langhorst
2013-11-06T16:41:21+0000
Javier Calderon
Javier Calderon
2013-10-29T03:15:10+0000
Brian Pineda
Brian Pineda
2013-10-24T23:43:19+0000
Bill Head
Bill Head
2013-10-08T15:42:00+0000
Sarah J Stark Kingston
Sarah J Stark Kingston
2013-10-05T20:49:22+0000
Antonio Nuño
Antonio Nuño
2013-10-02T14:00:50+0000
Corey Norman
Corey Norman
2013-10-02T02:05:31+0000
Billy Duckworth
Billy Duckworth
2013-09-29T15:43:16+0000
James Hale
James Hale
2013-09-21T18:48:42+0000
Sally Smith
Sally Smith
2013-09-19T14:32:58+0000
Kyle Goss
Kyle Goss
2013-09-04T03:26:26+0000
Jared Haller
Jared Haller
2013-09-01T19:56:25+0000
Stephen Gorme
Stephen Gorme
2013-08-31T21:40:29+0000
Kyle Doescher
Kyle Doescher
2013-08-27T06:03:10+0000
Ronnie Miller
Ronnie Miller
2013-08-27T05:46:04+0000
Johanna Clendenen
Johanna Clendenen
2013-08-24T19:38:26+0000
Darrick Bruyn
Darrick Bruyn
2013-07-29T16:13:49+0000
Sydney Pike
Sydney Pike
2013-07-22T22:56:07+0000
Next Reviews